My Mid-Season Missouri Valley Conference individual award winners

We continue our Mid-Season Missouri Valley Conference review with our individual award winners.  Some of the selections are a mere formality, but others will require constant evaluation over the next nine games to determine who will be the ultimate honoree.

For those interested, you can cross reference against my preseason selections.


Player of the Year – Doug McDermott, Creighton
-McDermott is the league’s leading scorer (3rd nationally) at 23.7ppg and should become the MVC’s first back to back All-American since Hersey Hawkins.

Newcomer of the Year – Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
-Early may have played his best basketball in Carl Hall’s absence, keeping the Shockers at the top of the Valley and moving them into the national polls.

Freshman of the Year – Anthony Beane, Jr, SIU
-Probably the toughest award to give as Missouri State freshmen Marcus Marshall and Gavin Thurman deserve equal consideration. I feel pretty confident that one of these three will be honored at the end of the season.

Defensive Player of the Year – Dyricus Simms-Edwards, Bradley
-DSE ranks in the top 5 nationally at 3.0 steals per game. Creighton’s Gregory Echenique is the returning award winner and will undoubtedly be considered here as well.

Coach of the Year – Gregg Marshall, Wichita State
-The easiest selection of them all. Marshall replaced almost his entire starting unit and has successfully rebuilt the Shockers into the Valley leader and a national Top 15 team.


Discuss this post on the MVCFans Message Board!